Skip to main content

Chairs and Directors Council on Diversity

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The School of Medicine Chairs and Directors Council on Diversity (CD2) was initiated by the dean in the Spring of 2014 and charged with developing, implementing and monitoring programs to increase the culture of diversity and inclusion in faculty within the School of Medicine.

This council has developed three notable deliverables:

1. An annual assessment of the SOM departments' demographic metrics by gender and race to measure and continuously improve upon the success of our efforts to achieve a faculty culture of diversity and inclusion;

2. The Dean's Diversity Fund (John A. Watson Faculty Scholars) which awards up to eight grants to support activities related to our educational and scholarly missions and assist with recruitment and retention of faculty who share our commitments to diversity and service to underserved or vulnerable populations; and

3. An accountability process for chairs of departments to ensure that the strategic initiative is a priority for Chairs and Directors.


Committee Members

Talmadge King, MD, Co-Chair Dean, School of Medicine
Nancy Adler, PhD Director, Center for Health and Community
Bobby Baron, MD Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Sue Carlisle, MD, PhD Vice Dean, San Francisco General Hospital
Elena Fuentes-Afflick, MD, MPH Vice Dean, Academic Affairs
Kevin Grumbach, MD Chair, Family & Community Medicine
Toby Maurer, MD Professor, Dermatology
Renee Navarro, MD Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Outreach
Mark Wilson, MD Professor, Radiology
Staff: Stephanie Belger