Dr. Talmadge E. King, Jr.Dr. Talmadge E. King, Jr. has been dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and vice chancellor for medical affairs since July of 2015. He began his career at UCSF in 1997 as chief of Medical Services at Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center. From 2006 to 2015, he served as chair of the UCSF Department of Medicine, the largest department in the school, with approximately 29 percent of the school's full-time faculty.

A physician-scientist, King’s research has focused on inflammatory and immunologic lung injury. He is best known for his pioneering work in the management of the interstitial pneumonias, a scarring process that often leads to death. His bibliography comprises more than 300 publications and he has co-edited eight books, including the acclaimed reference book, "Interstitial Lung Disease," now in its fifth edition.

King graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College and earned his medical degree at Harvard Medical School, followed by a residency at Emory University Affiliated Hospitals in Atlanta, Ga. and a pulmonary fellowship at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in Denver.

He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Association of American Physicians, American Clinical and Climatological Association and the Fleischner Society. He is a master of the American College of Physicians and fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians. He won the 2007 Trudeau Medal, the highest honor of the American Lung Association and American Thoracic Society.

UCSF School of Medicine Dean's Council 

Dr. Joshua AdlerJoshua Adler, MD is vice dean for clinical affairs. He has a direct relationship to the clinical department chairs to ensure the alignment of the clinical, research and education missions of UCSF and physician involvement in operational decision making. Dr. Adler is executive vice president for physician services at UCSF Health, a practicing internist and a professor of clinical medicine. Prior to his current position, he served as chief medical officer at UCSF Medical Center and medical director of ambulatory care at UCSF.

Dr. Adler earned a medical degree at UC San Diego Medical School and completed a residency in internal medicine at UCSF, followed by a chief resident year at the San Francisco Veteran Affairs Medical Center.

Maye ChrismanMaye Chrisman, MBA, is vice dean for administration and finance. She directs the financial, administrative and clinical business affairs of the school, overseeing business operations, personnel management and strategic planning.

Prior to joining the Dean’s Office, Ms. Chrisman served as chief financial officer, and then associate chair for finance and administration, in the Department of Medicine. She previously worked in strategy consulting and educational technology. Ms. Chrisman earned an MBA from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania and graduated magna cum laude with an AB in economics from Harvard College. She received the 2014 UCSF Chancellor Award for Exceptional University Management.

Dr. Neal CohenNeal H. Cohen, MD, (UCSF '71) is the vice dean responsible for international medical services, risk management, compliance and related special projects. Dr. Cohen is a professor of anesthesia and medicine.

Dr. Elena Fuentes-AfflickElena Fuentes-Afflick, MD, MPH is the vice dean for Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center, utilizing her exceptional administrative, organizational, and interpersonal skills to manage the ZSFG Dean’s Office enterprise and to successfully collaborate with a wide array of individuals and organizations throughout UCSF and the City and County of San Francisco.

Dr. Fuentes-Afflick is professor and vice chair of pediatrics at UCSF and chief of pediatrics at ZSFG. After completing her Pediatric Residency at UCSF and Chief Residency at ZSFG, she obtained a Master’s degree in Public Health at UC Berkeley. She returned to UCSF for Fellowship in Health Policy and subsequently joined the UCSF faculty in 1993.


Olivia HerbertOlivia Herbert, MBA, is associate Dean and chief of staff in the Dean's Office. She works directly with Dean Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD, and senior leaders across the School of Medicine to help develop key strategies and provide oversight and guidance to high-priority initiatives. She coordinates Dean King’s activities and joins and represents Dean King in meetings and on committees. Olivia leads the core team in the Dean’s Management Unit.

Dr. Christina MangurianChristina Mangurian, MD, MAS, is Vice Dean for Academic Affairs. She is responsible for overseeing all academic affairs in the School of Medicine, including the recruitment, development and advancement of a diversified academic workforce. She is also responsible for overseeing innovative programs for faculty orientation, career development, and leadership training.

Dr. Mangurian is also the Lynn and Marc Benioff Professor of Psychiatry at UCSF School of Medicine. Dr. Mangurian founded and directs the UCSF Program of Research on Mental health Integration among Underserved and Minority populations (PReMIUM), based at the Center for Vulnerable Populations, with focus on improving health care delivery for diverse populations with serious mental illnesses (e.g., schizophrenia, bipolar disorder). Dr. Mangurian is also nationally recognized for her research to promote gender equity in academic medicine.

Dr. David MorganAs vice dean for research, David Morgan, PhD, serves as the dean’s primary liaison to the school’s discovery community and its diverse research programs. He oversees internal funding programs as well as the school’s research training programs for graduate students and postdoctoral scholars. In addition to his role as vice dean, he is professor in the Department of Physiology, with an active research program in a laboratory on the Mission Bay campus.