The School of Medicine Chairs and Directors Council on Diversity (CD2) was initiated by the dean in the Spring of 2014 and charged with developing, implementing and monitoring programs to increase the culture of diversity and inclusion in faculty within the School of Medicine.

This council has developed three notable deliverables.

Staff and faculty at the 2018 Diversity Month Reception
Staff and faculty at the 2018 Diversity Month Reception

1. An annual assessment of the SOM departments' demographic metrics by gender and race to measure and continuously improve upon the success of our efforts to achieve a faculty culture of diversity and inclusion;

2. The Dean's Diversity Fund (John A. Watson Faculty Scholars) which awards up to eight grants to support activities related to our educational and scholarly missions and assist with recruitment and retention of faculty who share our commitment to diversity and/or focus on health equity, anti-racism, and health and healthcare disparities; and

3. An accountability process for chairs of departments to ensure that diversity, equity, anti-oppression and belonging are a strategic priority for Chairs and Directors.  A summary of the 2022 Department Diversity Accountability Process is online and includes cross-cutting themes, plan for action, and best practices.

Current Committee Members

Shelley Adler, PhD Director, UCSF Osher Center
Sarah Alba-Nguyen, MD, MPH Associate Professor, Medicine
Amber Fitzsimmons, PhD Chair, Physical Therapy
Paul Garcia, MD Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Jessica Gosnell, MD Associate Professor, Surgery
Michelle Guy, MD Professor, Medicine
Raphael Hirsch, MD Chair, Pediatrics
Andy Josephson, MD Chair, Neurology
Tippi MacKenzie, MD Director, Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regeneration Medicine and Stem Cell Research
Hiten Madhani, PhD Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics
Megan Mahoney, MD Chair, Family & Community Medicine
Meghan Morris, PhD, MPH Associate Professor, Epidemilogy & Biostatistics
Renee Navarro, MD Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Outreach
Joanne Spetz, PhD Director, Institute for Health Policy Studies
Mark Wilson, MD Professor, Radiology
Staff: Stephanie Belger Director of Strategic Initiatives, Dean's Office