The Lloyd Holly Smith Award for Exceptional Service to the School of Medicine was established in 2000 to recognize exceptional career service that has resulted in broad and long-lasting benefit to the School of Medicine. The award is named for Lloyd H. (Holly) Smith, Jr., whose 35-year career as chair of medicine and associate dean exemplified such an outstanding career effort.

Nominations are sought for up to four awards in the following categories:

1. Faculty with more than 15 years of service,
2. Faculty with 5 to 15 years of service,
3. Staff with more than 15 years of service; and
4. Staff with 5 to 15 years of service.

The winners are deemed to exhibit those qualities best exemplified by Holly Smith: dedication to the School of Medicine, diversity in roles played, commitment to sustaining UCSF's position as a world-class institution, and accomplishing all of the above with humor and grace.

For more detailed information about the awards, see Eligibility and Selection Criteria and the online nomination form.

Recipients of the awards will receive a prize of $5,000.

Please contact the Dean's Office with any questions.

About Holly Smith

Lloyd “Holly” Smith Jr., MD, professor and chairman emeritus of the UCSF Department of Medicine, served on the Chancellor’s Advisory Board, a group of visionary advisors, from academic and corporate backgrounds and across many industries, to provide guidance and intellectual resources to the UCSF leadership team and Chancellor. Holly joined UCSF as chairman of the Department of Medicine in 1964 and led the department through a period of exceptional growth, including many faculty who went on to be leaders in their fields. A fantastic interview with Holly can be read in The Journal for Clinical Investigation.