SOM Health Sciences Compensation Plan Advisory Committee Annual Report, 2019-2020

In accordance with Section II.A of the School of Medicine Implementing Procedures for the Health Sciences Compensation Plan, we provide a summary of the Health Sciences Compensation Plan Advisory Committee's activities for 2019-2020.

During July 2019 the Academic Affairs office held an election to replace Dr. Robert Baron, who completed a six-year term of service as the Clinical X representative. Dr. Sanziana Roman, Professor of Surgery, was elected to a three-year term.

In July 2019 Dean King appointed Dr. Louise Walter, Professor of Medicine, to fill Dr. Renée Binder's position after Dr. Binder completed a six-year term as an appointed member of the committee.

The committee held two in-person meetings during the 2019-2020 academic year (October 2019 and May 2020). During the Spring meeting, the committee reviewed and approved 10 revisions to compensation plans. The changes included additions of bereavement leave, clarifications of eligibility for other leaves, and changes in salary scale. The committee also reviewed and endorsed the recommendations made by the Salary Scale Work Group, which established scale 3 as the minimum scale for the School of Medicine. Finally, the committee reviewed and endorsed the recommendations made by the VA eligibility work group, which defined the eligibility criteria for the UC compensation plan for VA-based faculty members.

The committee will hold an election during Summer 2020 to replace Dr. Adam Bennett, the Adjunct representative, and Dr. Alan Gelb, the HS Clinical representative.

The 2019-2020 committee members are:

Adam Bennett, PhD (Adjunct, Epidemiology)
Neal Cohen, MD, MPH, MS (Clinical X, Anesthesia)
Elena Fuentes-Afflick, MD, MPH, Chair (Ladder Rank, Pediatrics)
Alan Gelb, MD (HS Clinical, Emergency Medicine)
Bonnie Johnson, MSW (Director of Academic Affairs, ex officio)
Sanziana Roman, MD (Clinical X, Surgery)
Louise Walter, MD (In Residence, Medicine)

Submitted by Elena Fuentes-Afflick, Chair on behalf of the Advisory Committee