Skip to main content

2019 Salute to Excellence

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

More than 100 participants gathered at Millberry Union on the Parnassus campus on May 13 for Salute to Excellence – the School of Medicine’s annual reception to recognize the contributions of all staff and faculty.

Many of the 2019 STAR Achievement Award winners were in attendance, in addition to the School's leadership, to celebrate a year of hard work and dedication to the School of Medicine’s PRIDE values.

Dean Talmadge King with Claire D. Brindis, DrPH, one of this year's recipients of the Holly Smith Awards.

Dean King also presented the recipients of this year's Holly Smith Awards for Exceptional Service to the School of Medicine. These awards are named for Lloyd H. (Holly) Smith, Jr., whose 35-year UCSF career exemplified dedication to the School of Medicine, diversity in roles played, commitment to sustaining UCSF's position as a world-class institution, and accomplishing all of the above with humor and grace.

An informal ice cream social celebration will be held on June 24 from 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. at Mission Bay’s Genentech Hall Atrium.