Skip to main content

Announcing the 2019 Recipients of the Holly Smith Award for Exceptional Service to the School of Medicine

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

It is our pleasure to announce this year's recipients of the annual Holly Smith Award for Exceptional Service to the School of Medicine. Please join us in congratulating Claire Brindis, DrPH, David Wofsy, MD, Margaret Damiano, MBA, and Maxine Davis.

The award, now in its 20th year, recognizes exceptional service to the School of Medicine. It is the school's most prestigious award, and provides an opportunity to celebrate our colleagues who embody the qualities and contributions exemplified by Holly Smith, MD, professor emeritus and former associate dean, who passed away in June 2018.
Claire recently celebrated 35 years of service at UCSF. A Professor and Director of the Institute for Health Policy Studies, her longstanding commitment to the institution and national impact is nothing short of remarkable. She is a driving force who works collaboratively across departments and schools in helping to conceptualize, pursue funding, and establish major institutional programs. Inspired by Holly Smith, she is a testament to the type of visionary leadership and lasting impact this award exemplifies.
As a Professor of Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology and Associate Dean for Admissions at the School of Medicine, David’s openness, ready wit, and self-deprecating manner has made him an indispensable and trusted resource. His commitment to diversity and establishment of a sustainable financial support model for medical students more than doubled funding and increased the average scholarship award by over 40%.
Margaret’s openness to new ideas and active engagement enabled her to foster the trusting, effective relationship with leadership needed to oversee the affiliation agreement on behalf of all UCSF departments at ZSFG. Her work as the Associate Dean of Administration and Finance is the lifeblood of UCSF activities for all clinical and educational programs at ZSFG.
In her role as Division Manager, Geriatrics within the Department of Medicine, Maxine has demonstrated an amazing ability to form relationships across UCSF’s campuses and actively build on these connections to improve and solve challenges for the School of Medicine. Through this process she teaches and elevates others, with quiet, but strong guidance, and grace under pressure.
Please click here to read more about the recipients and why they were chosen for this exceptional recognition.
We will be celebrating Claire, David, Margaret, and Maxine at Salute to Excellence, a reception and recognition for all School of Medicine employees, on May 13 from 3:00-5:00 pm in Millberry Union at Parnassus. We hope to welcome many of you there or at the Mission Bay Salute to Excellence on May 15 from 2:00-3:00 pm.
Please join us in congratulating these exceptional individuals, and thank you all for your commitment to making the UCSF School of Medicine a great place to work, learn, teach, and discover.