Skip to main content

News Links July/August 2013


Dean Hawgood announced the appointment of Andrew H. Murr, MD, FACS, as the new chair of the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, effective June 26, 2013.

Call for Nominations: Academy of Medical Educators Excellence in Teaching Awards 2013, submissions are due by July 22.

The next application deadline for the WINGS Employee Development Grant Program is Thursday, August 1, 2013. The WINGS Program offers professional development support for SOM staff employees through annual funding from the School of Medicine under the leadership of Dean Hawgood. 

The Reach the Decision Makers Fellowship seeks to provide a diverse group of participants the skills and support to engage the US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) on policy and regulatory issues relating to reproductive environmental health issues. Applications for the program are being accepted until August 9.

Applications are now being accepted for the SOM 2013-2014 Leadership Development Program (LDP).  This program is available to staff employees who are classified at Analyst IV and above, as well as senior managers at all levels, and current and former LDP participants.  The full program description and the application are posted on the School of Medicine website. The LDP 2013-2014 application deadline is August 26th.



July 16:            Academic Medicine in an Era of Austerity: Implications for Education, Clinical Care and Research – Atul Grover, MD, PhD

July 18:            Taking the Difficult out of Difficult Conversations

July 24:            Managing your CVs in Advance: Webinar sessions for faculty

July 29-30:        Tech Transfer Summit


September 10:  Faculty Development Day

September 23:  Academy of Medical Educators Celebration of New Members

September 28:  HDFCCC Cancer Symposium 2013


Jayanta Debnath, MD, was the one of 3 award recipients of the 2013-2014 Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation (SWCRF) grant.

William P. Dillon, MD, was presented with the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) Outstanding Contributions in Research Award.

David Julius, PhD, was named as the winner of the 2013 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research.

Shingo Kajimura, PhD, was named as a Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences.

George Sawaya, MD, was named as the Robert B. Domush, MD, Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology Education.

Bradley Sharpe, MD, FACP, SFHM, was elected to the Board of Directors of The Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) as well as receiving their Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The UCSF Bixby Center has been selected by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) as a member of the Contraceptive Clinical Trials Network (CCTN).

Visit the School of Medicine home page for more news as well as links to useful tools.

News Links is a monthly news digest distributed by the School of Medicine Communications Office. To submit an announcement or event to be included in the next issue, please send us a link leading to your information online. Please note that to reduce email clutter; it is our policy not send out any attachments.